Mountain Amateur Radio Club

Minutes of the Meeting

15 September 2010

Dean Buckhouse (KB0VVA) began the monthly meeting at 7:06pm with intros all around. Following the minutes of the previous meeting being read, a motion to accept was made by Paul Brown (AC5S). The next VE session will be the 6th of November. Zero candidates have shown up to the previous three VE sessions. It was noted that the ARRL website has not listed our VE sessions, and that they have been on holiday weekends.

Officer Reports - The meeting room will not be available in October. Dates, locations, etc for the October meeting will be forthcoming. A suggestion was made to have the meeting at a local restaurant.

Future meeting presentation suggestions to Paul Brown (AC5S). The scheduled fox hunting presentation was missed tonight. The intended presenters were not available. All of our accounting is caught up

New Business – Eric Schmidt (N3TCQ) and Dawn Leverington (KD0DES) agreed to handle the club's website. The 685 repeater goof'ed up on Net Night. Kit Haskins discussed the various options to remedy this repeater. They included a different receiver, a crystal filter on the front end, moving to another mountain, or putting a UHF repeater up on Badger. The problem is due to a wireless internet service provider. After discussion it was agreed to proceed with a different receiver and to also begin the work for coordinating a UHF pair of frequencies for Badger.

The office of the OEM has moved to the Cripple Creek Centennial Building / BOCC meeting room. At the last exercise it was noted that we could not do packet from that location. We need to get packet nodes setup on Badger and Tenderfoot. We have the radios, TNC's, etc. Also Wes asked if there was any interest in having Dstar on Badger.

Old Business – The continuation of the process to nominate and elect club officers commenced.

For President, Dean Buckhouse (KB0VVA) was nominated, and the nominations were closed by Wes Wilson (K0HBZ), seconded by Don Johnson (K0DRJ) and passed.

For Vice President, Paul Brown (N0BSS) was nominated, and the nominations were closed by Dean Buckhouse (KB0VVA), seconded by Jere Joiner (K0JTJ) and passed.

For Secretary, Bill Wallick (KC0FNV) was nominated, and the nominations were closed by Kit Haskins (KA0WUC), seconded by Wes Wilson (K0HBZ) and passed.

For Treasurer, Wes Wilson (K0HBZ) was nominated, and the nominations were closed by Cari XXX (), seconded by Patti White (N0PSD) and passed.

For the board of Director, John Tine (KD0DZR) was nominated, and the nominations closed by Wes Wilson (K0HBZ), seconded by Jere Joiner (K0JTJ) and passed.

The remaining one year of Paul Brown's Board member position, Don Johnson (K0DRJ) was nominated and the nominations closed by Kit Haskins (KA0WUC), seconded by XXX () and passed.

Wes Wilson made a motion to accept all new officers by acclimation. The motion was seconded by XXX and passed.

Our meeting adjourned at 8:10 pm

Submitted by Bill Wallick, Secretary